LIFE Steering Committee

Gary Bennett, Vice Provost of Undergraduate Education, and Mary Pat McMahon, Vice Provost/Vice President of Student Affairs, convened the Steering Committee on the 1G/LI Undergraduate Experience in Fall 2020. Members of this committee meet quarterly to exchange information and coordinate resources to support 1G/LI students and make Duke more inclusive for students of all socioeconomic backgrounds.


Sachelle Ford
Director, DukeLIFE & David M. Rubenstein Scholars Program


Kimberly Bethea
Assistant Vice Provost of OUE & Director of the Academic Resource Center (ARC)

John Blackshear
Associate Vice Provost of Student Affairs & Dean of Students

Jennifer Bullock
Staff Social Worker, Counseling and Psychological Services (CAPS)

Marcus Carson
Assistant Director of Sustainability & Quality, Duke Dining

Christoph Guttentag
Dean of Undergraduate Admissions

Jordan Hale
Associate Dean of Students & Director, New Student Programs

Arianne Hartsell-Gundy
Head, Humanities Section & Librarian for Literature and Theater Studies

Dana Hunt
Associate Professor of Microbial Ecology, Nicholas School of the Environment

Ling Jin
Student Development Coordinator, International House

Miranda McCall
Assistant Vice Provost of OUE & Director, Karsh Office of Undergraduate Financial Support

Jeanna McCullers
Senior Dean of Students & Director, Office of Student Conduct and Community Standards

Lupita Temiquel-McMillan
Assistant Dean, Pratt School of Engineering

Jay Pearson
Associate Professor of Public Policy & Global Health, Sanford School of Public Policy

Bruce Puckett
Assistant Dean of the Chapel

Jen’nan Read
Sally Dalton Professor of Sociology, Trinity College of Arts and Sciences

David Rabiner
Director, Academic Advising Center

Karen Stone
Associate Director, Event Services

Jeremiah Walker
Director of Football Academic Support, Athletics

KellyNoel Waldorf
Senior Admissions Officer

Greg Victory
Assistant Vice Provost of Student Affairs & Fannie Mitchell Executive Director of the Career Center

Jen Vizas
Senior Director of Projects, Service Adoption, Communications & Engagement, Office of Information Technology (OIT)